Wk 2–Artist Interview–Pilar Elizabeth

The special flag, the great idea from Pilar Elizabeth
The special flag, the great idea from Pilar Elizabeth
Introduction about the mending project
Introduction about the mending project
The artist: Pilar Elizabeth
The artist: Pilar Elizabeth
20150129_131201
Cute?who do not like our performance?
See, it is not easy,we worked hard.
See, it is not easy,we worked hard.
my little work in the gallary
my little work in the gallary

Art 110 is really different from other class, I should say  it is definitely more benefit to students when they have more chance to do the activities outside the classroom rather than spent a whole class sit inside. Especially to me who always want to be alone because of not so comfortable to communicate with others with a second language.

Watching all the classmates who were talking to each other or searching answers from the artist, I feel a little helpless as I did not really understand their conversation when I also stand there close to them. Then I left the gallery to the opposite one where I  found no students but only one artist was there.

Her name is Pilar Elizabeth who is extremely nice and considerate. She was born in American but actually her family was from Mexican, she has been the fourth generation since their family moved here. I noticed something like a flag on the floor as soon as I enter the room, she told me I can join her if I like, of course I was more than happy to do it. Then she taught me to do the needle work. Her idea about the American flag is touched me  a little,she said the flag is somehow a political protest,she feels bad when she heard some foreigners looked Americans in a bad way, and she want to do something to make people understand the Americans more,even Americans did not always right, everyone made mistakes and American is overall a great country.

It is amazing that another classmate came and Professor Zucman joined us too, made the room full of fun, we took funny pictures and we really did something meaningful.

Leave a Reply

